Since I didn’t get my mom an actual card for Mother’s Day (which i usually don’t b/c I always wait til the last minute to think about it), I woke up this morning and decided to write her a poem and send it to her via text message. It went a little something like this:

Words could not express
How much you mean to me
My love for you has no end
I only wish you could see.

On this Mother’s Day
Although we can’t be together
I pray God’s blessings upon you
Today, tomorrow, and forever

You gave me life and breath
For this I can’t thank you enough
Thirty-one long years ago
Life for you was pretty tough.

But you saw fit to give me a chance
To live, to grow, to be
Without you, I am nothing
Without you, I would not be me.

So on this May 12th, 2013
I have one thing left to say
I love you for everything you are to me
And this love will never fade away.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

I love you, ma!! ❤

I’ve always had a knack for poetry. I love how words flow so easily for me especially when I have a thought in mind and it’s just a natural “floetry”. I wanted my mom to know that I loved her and I was thinking of her even though she didn’t get a physical card in the mail to say so. Well she called me late this afternoon to say that she did get the poem and she loved it. She said she was going to print it out. Because I know how much of a procrastinator she is, I may print it and frame it and send it to her in the mail. A “belated” gift in the physical form.

My mom and I never used to be real close. I really hate it too. It was always as if the distance between us is what kept our relationship in tact. When I lived with her for the two years right after giving birth to my son, we didn’t get along. I attribute that discord to the fact that we were (and are) so much alike. Our ideals and thoughts clashed quite frequently. I used to resent her for never being there for me the way I felt she should have been when I was growing up. I resented her even more when I learned, while living with her for those two years, that she had “gotten over” the fact that she was never there for me (or my twin brother), and felt that I should just “get over” it as well. I knew that after two plus years, the situation was not going to get any better and I made the decision to return to Georgia from New York – back home where I felt I belonged.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my mom. I always have. But I always wanted a close-knit relationship with her. I always wanted to be able to talk to her about any and everything, and to have her be able to talk to me about things that were going on in her life as well. Though what I always longed for, I never really got. I can’t stress enough how much the distance that we have between us is the real reason we are as close as we are at this point. Every word of the poem I wrote for her, I meant. I  always want her to know that I love her, no matter what. While my life could have turned out to be very different for any number of reasons, I am a firm believer in the fact that everything happens for a reason. My life turned out the way it did because that is what God had predestined for my life. People say you can’t pick your family; well if I could, I wouldn’t change anyone. I feel blessed and highly favored to have those in my life who are in it and play a part, no matter how big or how small.

