The nature of man

Just what is it about them

That gives them the right

 

The right to treat us

As though we belong to them

We are not equal

 

No not in their eyes

They treat us inferior

We always submit

 

What they want we give

Pushing aside our needs

As unimportant

 

Men and their requests

Their demands they force on us

Soon we grow tired

 

We want a pardon

To be freed from their stronghold

We are women first

 

Not their maids or slaves

To wait on them hand and foot

With no gratitude

 

Man and his nature

Of getting his needs met first

Those days are over

 

No more late night calls

Asking what I am wearing

None of your business

 

If you were concerned

You would be here by my side

And then you would know

 

Nothing specific

Caused me to write this today

Other than a man

 

Who I once saw as

Essential in my love life

He could not see me

 

I was an option

Because that was his nature

To treat me that way

 

And not only me

But others he strung along

We all thought the same

 

That we were the one

He was true and faithful to

What a bunch of bull

 

He cannot be true

To a woman or himself

It is his nature

 

No respect of self

Most certainly none for me

I want to be done

 

Living in this way

Is not for a good woman

This is not for me

 

Treat me decently

With dignity and respect

Or else we are through

 

This nature of man

Will cause him to lose great things

Love and faithfulness

 

Women desire

Affection passion and trust

From a man she loves

 

One man may see trash

Where another sees treasure

Act accordingly

 

 

