The Pastor spoke on envy last night at revival. I was glad I could make it to church because that was such a welcomed word that he preached. The scripture he read was Proverbs 27:4. I had the eye-opening experience here recently to really reflect on envy and jealousy. I don’t like to think that people can be jealous or envious of me because what I have, I don’t really feel that it’s anything to be jealous of. I work hard to get what I have. I work hard at being a parent to my children and trying to make sure I bring them up in the way they should be brought up, giving them the basic essentials of life. But I was told that even though I don’t really have anything, people are envious of me and what I do have. And its not so much so that they want what I have, but more so they just don’t want me to have it (as if I’m unworthy). While I’m thinking about it as its being said, and half way dismissing it at the same time, I realize that the statement just might have some truth in it. I don’t drive a fancy car, but I have a reliable source of transportation that gets me to and from my appointed destinations. I don’t have a big lavish house, but I have a roof over my head and those of my children where we can lay our heads at night and call “home”. I’m no executive in my workplace, but I do hold a position of some value and I take pride in that. I don’t hold a Bachelor’s or a Master’s degree, but I’m surely working towards both, and I do have an educated frame of mind. I live miles and miles apart from a lot of my immediate family members but I like to think we have a great relationship in spite of the distance that separates us. It’s a real hard pill to swallow when you come to realize that things and people in your life aren’t what and who you thought they were. We used to be held down and held back by those outside of our race. Now, it’s as if we can’t get ahead without OUR OWN PEOPLE trying to keep us down because of envy and their own will to get ahead over the next person…

The Pastor said to not get upset about anyone’s blessing, but to just be grateful for yours. He describes envy as a terrible and deep seeded emotion. Proverbs 14:30 says that envy is the rottenness of the bones. People who carry around envy and jealousy have a possessive nature. Envy can damage the life of a Christian. The Pastor also says to ask God for what it is you need or desire instead of being jealous of what the next person has. The one thing he says can stand against jealousy is love. (1 Corinthians 13:4) I would much rather love the next person, be happy for them, and share in their success, than have hatred or jealousy because they have something I don’t. What’s for me is for me; and the same is true for the next person. What God has for them, may not be for me, so I don’t want to have what they have, I want what’s mine! It’s really as simple as that. Titus 3:3-4 says “For we ourselves also were sometimes foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving divers lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful, and hating one another. But after that the kindness and love of God our Saviour toward man appeared”.

That was really something I needed to hear and be a witness to for myself. Envy is no pretty thing. It can cause hurt and pain in so many ways. And not only for the one who possesses it and displays it, but for the ones who are on the receiving end. Jealousy has been known to ruin lives, and until we can all be grateful for what we ourselves have – even if it’s not a lot – we will always have the displeasure of experiencing envy; the rottenness of the bones.

That is all… Until next time. 🙂

