You slam the door in my face

Time and time again.

But I continue to come knocking

In the rain and against the wind.

You don’t answer my calls

Nor do you reply to my texts.

I sit back and wonder

Without being mad or upset.

I don’t know the reasons

You’ve forgotten about me

What’s the real problem,

What didn’t I see?

I thought you felt the same way I did

At least that’s what you said.

But you said a whole lot in the beginning.

Almost anything, just to get ahead.

So I’ve stopped my calling,

I’m done trying to force you

To value my presence and love

There’s nothing left for me to do.

But there are many who see me as worthy

Who will give me their time and attention.

And the rejection you’ve sent my way

Won’t ever again be worth a mention.

I’m glad that you helped me to see

You. For who you really are.

Ignoring me, dismissing me,

That won’t get you very far.

I feel as though a burden has been lifted

And I will continue to strive for perfection.

I’ve learned so much through this experience

So I say, thank you… For your rejection.

