I saw this movie last night and it was one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. I laughed, I cried, I thought about my life growing up without a father and the lives of my children who have their dad in their lives, but they don’t have him at the same time. Alex Kendrick who plays the main character, Adam in the movie said “I don’t want to be a ‘good enough’ father.” That’s powerful, because there are many fathers I’ve seen who are ‘good enough’ fathers… But only they know if they’re being the father that their children need.

I don’t want to tell the movie because for anyone who decides to go see it, I don’t want to ruin it for them. I will say thought that this movie will call for a man to think about what kind of father he is or is not being to his children. I could kind of relate to Nathan’s character because he never met his dad. I met my father for the first time when I was fifteen years old. My twin brother, Joseph has never met our father face to face. And I fear that with the way our father’s health has kind of been declining, my brother may not get a chance to meet him before he dies. I don’t think he’s close to death or anything, but I’m just saying. We don’t know what will happen before he gets to meet him. I mean, I hope and pray that they do get to meet in the near future, but I’m just not too sure.

So where are you, men of courage?! Go see the movie! You won’t be disappointed.

