“…within the core of each of us is the child we once were. This child constitutes the foundation of what we have become, who we are, and what we will be.” ― Rhawn Joseph

Once again, Criminal Minds quotes bring thought-provoking topics to my mind to blog about. My friend John Skywalker came to my mind when I heard this one last night during an episode. He says that in order for him to better understand the child his son is, he goes back to his childhood days to think about and remember how he was back then. I have to admit, I don’t really do that. I don’t have the vivid memories of my childhood, that my twin brother has. I think its hard for me to think as a child because I’ve been an “adult” since I became a mother at seventeen years old. But as far as the quote is concerned, Rhawn Joseph is quite right. I think that the child within each of us does constitute the foundation of what we have become, who we are, and what we will be.

I can remember feeling somewhat unpopular in school. I wore glasses, so I felt like a nerd, although I wasn’t. And being talked about for wearing glasses made me not wear them like I should. My grandma raised me, so we didn’t always have name brand clothes and such, but that never really bothered me. I recall being at lunch in high school, and we used to go outside after we ate until our lunch period was over and talk, laugh, and just congregate and have fun. This girl – who was pretty well liked – was behind me one day and said really loud, “Josephine got on these CHIC jeans!!” and everybody that was right there around us started laughing. I was a bit embarrassed, but I just laughed it off and didn’t worry about it. But I never had Levi’s or Arizona, or name brands like that, so Chic, Jordache, Wrangler, or no name brand at all was common to me. Now as an adult, I find myself being the same way my grandma had to be. I don’t buy my kids Gap, or Old Navy, or Aéropostale, or American Eagle, Levi’s and those others. I get what my money can afford to buy for three children. They’re clean, and presentable, so what’s on the tag on the backs of their jeans or the insides of their shirts doesn’t matter to me, and it really shouldn’t matter to anyone else.

I said all that to say that we should all “lighten up” a bit every once in a while. Be a kid again; especially if you have kids. I know I can be hard on mine and often, but when I let my guard down and laugh and just have fun with them, I can see the joy and love in their little eyes. They love it! I have so much growing to do and I think its good that I recognize it because my kids are still young. I don’t want them to only remember that I fussed and cussed at them all the time and we never laughed and had any good times. It’s okay to be a kid with your kids sometimes; they just have to know when mama’s back to being MAMA… (And that goes for dad’s too.)

