The important thing is this: To be able at any moment to sacrifice what we are for what we could become. ~Charles DuBois~

I believe my first time hearing this quote was at the end of a Criminal Minds episode by Agent Hotchner. I thought it was catchy and I thought it made sense. I wrote a note about what I thought it meant on my facebook page a few weeks back, but I wanted to take a different approach to it. I talked about how I sacrificed my childhood to be a teenage mother. But that was a long time ago and I’ve come a long way since then. For the purpose of this post, I want to talk about my future as opposed to my past.

So who am I, really? Today, at 29 years old, I am a mother, a sister, a niece, a daughter, a granddaughter, an aunt, a godmother, a coworker, an employee and a friend. I feel that I am loyal to those close to me. I make people laugh, I’m a listener and confidant. I will soon be a student again working toward completing my Associate’s Degree in Business Administration. People have made sacrifices for me my entire life. My grandmother in particular. She sacrificed what she was and what she could become for me and my twin brother.

The Many Faces of Me

My ultimate goal is to be successful in life and to be the type of parent my children can be proud of. I think I’m doing a pretty good job so far if I must say so myself. I don’t want to give up on school because it is most important to me since I have come so far already. The few minor setbacks are just that, setbacks. They aren’t going to stop me from pushing forward and earning my degree. Once I get my Associates Degree, I plan to continue and work on my 4-year Bachelor’s Degree in Human Resources Management.

So what are you striving for in your life right now, at this moment? And will you push through until you get where you want to be?

