Ok. I haven’t been job hunting in a while (Thank God!) and although I have not and am not, I have seen a few things on facebook that has prompted me to write this. Not everyone will take what I have to say the same way. Some people may get offended, some people may feel that my views are wrong. But they are my views after all.

Penmanship: Nothing would turn me off more (if I were reviewing applications) than sloppy handwriting when looking at someone’s job application. People get complacent when they get older and don’t think too much about how they write or even much about how they speak once they’re out of high school. I get on to my son (who’s 12) regularly  about his penmanship. Its HORRIBLE! I know a lot of companies now have online applications and you won’t have to worry about physically writing anything. But if you are looking for a job and you have terrible handwriting, either ask someone to help you out by filling out your application for you or just make an extra effort to write neatly for the purpose of the application.

Attire: Don’t come to a job interview wearing JEANS! I don’t care if you have applied to work at McDonald’s! Have some sense of pride and professionalism about yourself and ‘dress up’; make the manager at least think you are actually sincere about the job you are applying for. And please, please, please, please IRON YOUR CLOTHES! I can’t tell you the number of people I have seen come for an interview looking like they just took their shirt out of a drawer or the back of the closet and just threw it on. First impressions are everything, and guess what, you only get ONE!

Contact information: If someone wants to hire you and they send you a letter telling you to be some place at a certain time and your letter comes back as ‘undeliverable’, that’s a problem. FOR YOU! The people sending out the letters are going to use the information you have put down on your application. If the address you put down is not where you receive mail, why put it there? I’ve even seen the yellow stickers on envelopes that say NMR – no mail receptacle. If you get mail at your mom’s house, or a post office box, or where ever else you might receive mail, its probably best you put that address so you might actually have a shot at the job you are applying for. I mean, if the person really wants to give you a fair shot, they may try to contact you at the phone number you have listed if your letter comes back as undeliverable. This is where we come to the next item on the list… Nowadays, so many people rely on cellular phones. Hardly anybody has a land line phone at their home anymore (although I do). So there’s this thing called a ring back tone. Just don’t do it! If you are looking for a job and your potential employer calls your cell and has to listen to “TOOT THAT THANG UP MAMA MAKE IT ROLL!!” for forty-five seconds to a minute before your voice mail greeting comes on, its really not a good look. One facebook friend of mine who handles applicants and recruiting put it very well: “I think it speaks to their professionalism. If I call the number you placed on your app for me to contact you at and Cee Lo Greens “F&%$ You” is playing for 2 mins….I take that as you aren’t serious about getting a job or making a positive impression. I’ve said it to applicants….they’ll call back and apologize, change it, its inappropriate during a job search.” And that sums it up right there. Its not professional, its inappropriate.

Egos: Don’t think that because you have a degree (and no experience) that you are entitled to the job for which you are applying. No one likes a smart alec or someone who is self-centered and conceited. Its not cute and more often than not, it will not get you where you want to be. Nothing is wrong with having confidence in your abilities, but don’t make the person willing to hire you feel as if THEY need YOU. They are already in their positions, YOU NEED THEM!

I think I’ve covered the major issues to which people need to adhere to and take note of when job hunting. Write like an adult and not an elementary school student; look presentable; take that foolishness off of your phone; and don’t let your big ego cause you to miss out on a great opportunity (however small, any job in this economy, is a great opportunity).

